Wiley’s “Free to read” actually means “pay 35 USD”

eurjchem

I got the above unwanted Twitter from Wiley (I have checked as far as possible that it’s genuine). It seems to be Wiley advertising a free to read article. I have pasted the message so you can try this at home:

Progress in #nanotechnology within the last several decades review from @unifr is #freetoread! http://ow.ly/FXDFQ

I check the poster https://twitter.com/ChemEurJ/status/544832871564050432/photo/1 and it seems to be a genuine site. So off I go to get my free copy (sorry, my free set of photons for sighted readers)…

 

eurjchem1

I click the “View Full Article (HTML)” and get…

eurjchem2

So Wiley equate “35 USD” with “free to read”.

I don’t.

I’m sure it’s a BUMP-ON-THE-ROAD (Elsevier excuse).

But this is the independent fourth publisher foul-up I have got in the last four days. We pay them 20 Billion USD and they can’t get it right.

Published by

steelgraham

Scotland's (main, but not only) #OpenScience #OpenAccess #OpenData #OpenSource #OpenKnowledge & #PatientAdvocate Loves blogging http://figshare.com/blog Glasgow, Scotland.

Leave a Reply

